ZEE Entertainment Reveals Commentator Panel for DP World ILT20 Season 2

ZEE Entertainment Reveals Commentator Panel for DP World ILT20 Season 2

ZEE Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL), the official broadcaster of DP World ILT20, has announced a star-studded panel of commentators for the league’s upcoming second season. The world’s second most-watched league will be brought to life by a panel rounded-off with some of the leading cricketing experts in the world. The voices behind some of the most iconic moments in the sport in recent years — Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, Rohan Gavaskar, Saba Karim, Nikhil Chopra, Vivek Razdan, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shoaib Akhtar, who will be joined by Alan Wilkins, Simon Doull, Daren Ganga, Danny Morrison and Niall O’Brien. 

With an illustrious array of distinguished personalities and renowned voices gracing the commentary panel, ZEE Entertainment promises to deliver captivating action from the league's second season in an engaging and dynamic fashion. Former India captain Anjum Chopra as well as high-profile sports broadcasters Reema Malhotra and Natalie Germanos will be three esteemed female commentators on the panel.

These accomplished individuals bring a wealth of experience, knowledge, and a deep passion for the game, promising to deliver comprehensive coverage and expert insights throughout the league’s upcoming season, elevating the cricket-viewing experience. The commentary will be available in English and Hindi languages.

Starting 19th January 2024, cricket fans can watch this only global T20 league on Zee’s most widely distributed and viewed 10 linear TV channels: &Pictures, &Pictures HD, Zee Cinema HD, Zee Anmol Cinema, Zee Zest, Zee Ganga, Zee Cinemalu HD, &Flix, &Flix HD and Zee Zest HD and leading OTT platform ZEE5. All single header matches will be broadcast Live at 8 PM India prime time, starting with the pre-match presentation at 7:30 PM. The afternoon match on the double-header’s day will start at 4:00 PM.

Speaking on this announcement, Rahul Johri, President – Business, ZEE Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL) said, “We are delighted to unveil our distinguished commentator panel for the upcoming DP World ILT20 Season 2. The expertise and diverse perspectives of our esteemed commentators will undoubtedly enhance the excitement surrounding this premier cricketing event. As the upcoming season boasts presence of some of the biggest cricket stars worldwide, DP World ILT20 promises to be one of the most-competitive cricket leagues globally. With the league’s rising stature and global appeal, we are thrilled to bring this cricketing spectacle for the audience across the world.”

Expressing his enthusiasm for commentating at the DP World ILT20, Virender Sehwag exclaimed, “UAE's meteoric rise as a cricketing powerhouse in recent years is truly remarkable, and the DP World ILT20 is undoubtedly another jewel in its cricketing crown. As the highly anticipated Season 2 of the league is around the corner, I am anticipating electrifying performances from power-packed players. Following the phenomenal success garnered by the league’s inaugural season, I am confident in ZEE’s unwavering commitment to amplify the league and offer an exhilarating experience on display for global audiences.”

Speaking about commentating in DP World ILT20, former legendary fast bowler Wasim Akram said, “I am truly thrilled to be part of the commentary team for the second season of DP World ILT20. The three iconic venues in the UAE will serve as the canvas for some of the most prominent T20 stars to showcase their talent.”

Adding to this, former English cricketer and well-known commentator Alan Wilkins said, “I am honoured to be part of the esteemed commentary panel for the upcoming season of DP World ILT20. The recognised global league will be a celebration of the spirit of cricket as the sporting extravaganza unfolds across the UAE. As the second-most watched T20 cricket league globally, I believe that ZEE Entertainment is committed to making the league bigger and better, offering a fresh and exciting experience to a global audience.”

Former Indian cricketer Rohan Gavaskar said, “As we step into the exciting journey of the DP World ILT20’s second season, I invite viewers to get ready for a captivating cricket experience on &Pictures and ZEE5. Featuring a global array of talent and strategic team plays, this season promises fans worldwide a thrilling and engaging spectacle.”

Speaking about the magnitude of the league, former Pakistan cricketer and coach, Waqar Younis who will be part of the upcoming season’s commentator panel said, “DP World ILT20 is truly a cricketing rendezvous, featuring a mix of seasoned players and rising stars, making the league a must-watch for cricket enthusiasts globally. It is a celebration of cricketing diversity, with an array of player and team rivalries. I am very excited to be part of the commentators’ panel for the upcoming edition.”

The truly international league’s six franchise teams include Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (Kolkata Knight Riders), Desert Vipers (Lancer Capital), Dubai Capitals (GMR), Gulf Giants (Adani Sportsline), MI Emirates (Reliance Industries), and Sharjah Warriors (Capri Global). Some of the world’s most prominent cricket stars are slated to play in the Season 2, including David Warner, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Ambati Rayudu, Corey Anderson, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Trent Boult, Dasun Shanaka, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sam Billings, David Willey, Alex Hales, Tom Curran, Rovman Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, James Vince, Chris Woakes and Martin Guptill.

The 34-match event will be played at the three iconic UAE venues - Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah – starting 19th January 2024 to 17th February 2024. DP World ILT20 defending champions – Gulf Giants will be facing Sharjah Warriors, followed by Dubai Capitals’ opening match against MI Emirates. Dubai Capitals are set to begin their Season 2 on 20th January 2024. Last year’s runner-up Desert Vipers will open their campaign against the Abu Dhabi Knight Riders on 21st January at the Dubai International Stadium.

Telecom Today